EMMA ELISABETH

~„I was the passenger, now I’m a pilot ~ Turns out this is more than just a line in a dreamy indie pop anthem. Emma Elisabeth has taken the wheel and become the pilot of her own life, and her album „Melancholic Milkshake“ is the act of emancipation that comes with it.

Emma Elisabeth Dittrich was born near Malmö, Sweden in July 1984. Both her parents are musicians, allowing a young „Betty“ to start playing and making music at an early age. She sings in a choir, takes piano lessons, buys her first electric guitar, starts bands and eventually ends up studying at the renowned Kulturama music college in Stockholm. Next thing you know she goes on tour through Japan with her very first power pop band „Shebang”. Simultaneously she starts writing her own solo material and after going on an exchange semester in Germany in 2010 she ends up settling in Berlin.

Her first musical breakthrough comes with what started as a side project with german lyrics: signed to EMI she releases an album under the name „Betty Dittrich“ and takes part in the pre-selection of the Eurovision Song Contest. Her 60’s, France Gall inspired Grand-Prix Pop is however only the beginning of her artistic development and actual musical ambitions. In 2016 she releases the DIY album „Cover Stories“ which contains songs by legends like Lou Reed, Bob Dylan, Fleetwood Mac and Daniel Johnston. After a hard landing in the music industry this project functions as a way to break free and explore new and uncharted waters. Regardless of past struggles, Emma Elisabeth looks back at her time as „Betty Dittrich“ with coolness: „I am extremely thankful for that time in my life. It’s important to try things out and to learn from it. And through this I’ve learned that I’d much rather do things myself and make less compromises. I want to produce my music, trust my own gut feeling and be less dependent on the opinion of others. “

Today the musician is using her professional experiences and creativity to write songs for other artists and projects as well. Emma Elisabeth has collaborated on releases by artists like RAF Camora, SVRCINA and Thorsteinn Einarsson. She has written with a plethora of different musicians and even explored working on film music („High Society“, 2017). An impressively genre-spanning spectrum, all the while her solo project seemingly belongs in a sacred chamber of its own.

The tracks on „Melancholic Milkshake“ are a mixture of songs written in solitude and collaborations with other musicians; her anthemic folk-pop track „Cavalry“ was created together with Petter Ericson Stakee from Alberta Cross. And on two of the album songs she worked with former Franz Ferdinand member Nick McCarthy. „As much as I love writing songs all by myself  I also enjoy writing together with others, to bring in strange colors and nuances“, says the 34-year old. „If I only sat alone to write, eventually I’d start repeating myself “. The album features musicians like drummer Earl Harvin (Tindersticks, AIR), bass player Christian Kuehn and Petter Erikson Stakee. It was produced by Emma Elisabeth and mainly recorded out in her rehearsing room studio deep in East-Berlin. Parts were done at Victor Van Vugt’s studio  (Nick Cave, PJ Harvey), who later mixed the entire album.

Live, Emma Elisabeth takes the stage with a full band as well as playing intimate solo concerts – wild yet controlled and elegantly messed up. Recent support shows with bands like Sunflower Bean, L.A.Witch, The Japanese House and Hannah Epperson aren’t the only proof of that; She was also an official showcasing artist at SXSW 2019 for the second year in a row.

Detuned analogue synthesizers bring in an 80’s vibe and her lush interlacing vocal harmonies are a nod to classic 70’s pop. All together it’s a bit as if Patti Smith and Dolly Parton went on a road-trip from New York to California and picked up Fleetwood Mac and Mazzy Star along the way. She mixes Jangle- with Alternative Pop, Americana and Country and creates her very own intuitive sound with effortless vintage charm. Emma Elisabeth calls it „Unpolished Pop Songs“ and refers to artists like Jenny Lewis, Sharon Van Etten and Sunflower Bean as modern day heroes of classic songwriting and organic sounds in the otherwise quite polished world of pop.

Just like her EP „We Gotta Talk“, released in 2017, Emma Elisabeth’s melancholy drenched album got its final gloomy touch by Victor Van Vugt (PJ Harvey, Nick Cave). Songs like „I’d Be Lying“ and „What a Waste“ summon the spirits of Rock’n’Roll while the hauntingly intimate electric guitar ballad „Into the Blue“ and the lascivious „Head Over Heels“ both incorporate elements of the blues. „Melancholic Milkshake“, however, still manages to never lose its pop vibe, like in the final track „Great Pretender“, where a reverb-drenched organ carries the vocals through an emotional abyss. Emma Elisabeth wrote that song the night that her ex-boyfriend suddenly broke up with her and left. Instead of going to a psychotherapist, the musician processes experiences by writing songs. In that vein, „Melancholic Milkshake“ turned into a break-up- and moving-on-album, but one that lets melancholy get carried by a strong and self empowering undertone. The song that was somewhat of a starting point for the album is now the closing track; Leaving space for „Pilot“ – the opener that kicks off „Melancholic Milkshake“ and sets Emma Elisabeth off on her determined way towards greater things – she was a passenger now she’s the pilot …

Album „Melancholic Milkshake“ out on June 21st, 2019

Artist Links

logo_f logo_h logo_y

EMMA ELISABETH

„I was the passenger now I’m a pilot“ – das ist mehr als die Songzeile in einer verträumten Indiepop-Hymne. Emma Elisabeth ist zur Pilotin ihres eigenen Lebens geworden und ihr Album „Melancholic Milkshake“ ist die dazugehörige Emanzipationsgeschichte.

 

Emma Elisabeth Dittrich wird im Juli 1984 in Schweden geboren. Beide Eltern sind Musiker, so dass die kleine Betty sich die vielen Instrumente, die zu Hause rum liegen, schnell aneignet. Sie singt im Chor, lernt Klavier spielen, kauft sich ihre erste E-Gitarre, gründet Bands und studiert schließlich in Stockholm am renommierten Kulturama Gesang. Oder tourt mit dem ersten Album ihrer Powerpop-Girlband Shebang durch Japan. Gleichzeitig arbeitet sie aber auch an Solosongs und als sie 2010 ein Auslandssemester nach Deutschland führt, bleibt sie einfach in Berlin.

Ausgerechnet ein Nebenprojekt mit deutschsprachigen Texten verhilft ihr dort zum ersten musikalischen Durchbruch: Von EMI unter Vertrag genommen, veröffentlicht sie als Betty Dittrich 2013 ein Album und nimmt am Vorentscheid des Eurovision Sound Contest teil. Der 60ies angehauchte Grand Prix Pop ist aber nur der Anfang ihrer eigentlichen musikalischen Entwicklung und ihrer Ambitionen als Künstlerin. 2016 veröffentlicht sie deshalb das D.I.Y.-Album „Cover Stories“ mit Songs von unter anderem Lou Reed, Bob Dylan, Fleetwood Mac und Daniel Johnston. Nach der ersten harten Landung in der Musikindustrie ist das wie eine Befreiung für die Musikerin und der Aufbruch zu neuen Ufern. Ihre Zeit als „Betty Dittrich“ sieht Emma Elisabeth trotzdem gelassen: „Ich bin total dankbar für diese Zeit. Es ist wichtig, Dinge zu machen, um etwas zu lernen. Und ich habe dadurch gelernt, dass ich die Sachen besser selber mache und keine Kompromisse mehr eingehen möchte. Lieber produziere ich meine Sachen selbst und mache mich weniger abhängig von den Meinungen anderer“. The pilot halt …

Heute nutzt die Musikerin ihre Erfahrungen auch als Songschreiberin für andere Künstlerinnen und Künstler. Und das höchst professionell: Emma Elisabeth hat entscheidend an Veröffentlichungen von RAF Camora, Thorsteinn Einarsson, SVRCINA und vielen anderen Künstlern mitgeschrieben und sich auch schon an Filmmusik (High Society, 2017) als Schreiberin beteiligt. Eine beeindruckende Bandbreite, zwischen deren Polen die Künstlerin sich solo wiederum völlig anders verortet.

Entsprechend sind die Songs auf „Melancholic Milkshake“ von Emma Elisabeth selbst geschrieben, nur bei wenigen Songs haben sich andere Musiker beteiligt: für den hymnischen Vintage-Folkpop von „Cavalry“ hat sie mit Petter Ericson Stakee von Alberta Cross gearbeitet, für zwei weitere Stücke mit Ex-Franz-Ferdinand-Mitglied Nick McCarthy – „So sehr ich es liebe, eigene Songs zu schreiben, so sehr macht es mir eben auch Spaß, mit anderen zusammenzuarbeiten, auch, um andere Einflüsse und Nuancen einzubringen“, sagt die 34-Jährige und ergänzt: „würde ich immer nur alleine arbeiten, wiederhole ich mich irgendwann.“ Deshalb verstärken „Melancholic Milkshake“ auch der Schlagzeuger Earl Harvin (Tindersticks, AIR) und Bassist Christian Kuehn. Aufgenommen hat Emma Elisabeth ihr Album im Proberaumstudio im Osten Berlin, produziert hat die das Album selbst unterstützt von Produzent Victor Van Vugt (Nick Cave, PJ Harvey), der die Platte abgemischt hat.

Und auch live kann sie sowohl mit Bandunterstützung als auch solo mit ihrer Musik punkten. Das hat sie nicht nur bei den Supporttouren mit Sunflower Bean, L.A. Witch, Bled White, Hannah Epperson und The Japanese House unter Beweis gestellt, sondern wurde auch 2019 zum zweiten Mal in Folge eingeladen beim SXSW zu spielen.

 

Während die verstimmten analogen Synthesizer bei „Melancholic Milkshake“ für 80er-Referenzen sorgen, klingen die Gesangharmonien ganz so, als unternähmen Patti Smith und Dolly Parton einen Roadtrip von der Ost- an die Westküste, um unterwegs noch Fleetwood Mac und Mazzy Star aufzulesen. Emma Elisabeth vermengt Jangle mit Alternative Pop, Americana und Country zu ihrem ganz eigenen Vintage-Pop. Emma Elisabeth nennt es „unpolierte Popsongs“ und verweist auf KünstlerInnen wie Jenny Lewis, Sharon Van Etten oder Sunflower Bean, die das Organische der Songwritertradition in die Gegenwart transportieren. Wie auch schon ihre 2017 erschienene EP „We Gotta Talk“ lässt Emma Elisabeth den Produzenten Victor Van Vugt (PJ Harvey, Nick Cave) ihren melancholisch umwitternden Sound düster veredeln. So beschwören Songs wie „I’d Be Lying“ oder “What A Waste“ die Geister des Rock’n’Roll herauf, während sich die intime Gitarrenballade „Into The Blue“ und das lasziv verschleppte „Head Over Heels“ sich am Blues reiben. Und trotzdem verliert „Melancholic Milkshake“ nie den Pop aus den Augen. Wie beim finalen Song „Great Pretender“, den ein hallendes Orgel durch emotionale Tiefen hebt. Den Song hat Emma Elisabeth in der Nacht geschrieben, als sich ihr Freund überraschend von ihr getrennt hatte. Statt mit einer Physiotherapie verarbeitet die Musikerin die Trennung mit Songschreiben. „Melancholic Milkshake“ ist deshalb auch ein Breakup-Album geworden. Aber eins, in dem die Melancholie von einer positiven Botschaft getragen wird. Weshalb der Song, mit dem vieles auf dieser Platte begonnen hat, am Ende steht. Um Platz zu machen für „Pilot“, den Opener, mit dem nicht nur „Melancholic Milkshake“ durchstartet, sondern auch Emma Elisabeth sich zielsicher Richtung Erfolg navigiert – once she was a passenger now she’s the pilot …

 

Das Album „Melancholic Milkshake“ erscheint am 21.06.2019

Artist Links

logo_f logo_h logo_y